HTC Alumni

Stanford Anderson and HTC Symposium

Professor Anderson's legacy at MIT stretched from his scholarship and teaching to program building. This symposium will be an opportunity to reflect on his efforts by means of three roundtables chared by HTC alumni and his former students. The History, Theory and Criticism of Architecture and Art program and the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture co-host the Memorial Symposium in honor of Professor Emeritus Stanford Anderson (1934-2016).

Friday, May 5, 2017
3:30 - 6:00 PM
Roundtable 1: Research & Epistemology
Carol Rusche Bentel, Robert Cowherd, Mark Jarzombek, Adnan Z. Morshed, Nancy Stieber

6:30 PM
Reception/Light Supper

Saturday, May 6, 2017
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Roundtable 2: Architecture & Education
Edward Eigen, Mina Marafat, Juliana Maxim, Brian L. McLaren, Ikem Okoye, Shundana Yusaf

2:00 - 4:30 PM
Roundtable 3: Stan Anderson & HTC
Libero Andreotti, Paul Bentel, Irene Fatsea, Gail Fenske, Nasser Rabbat

On Saturday evening, symposium attendees are invited to a reception in Boston hosted by Nancy Royal. Please reply by

HTC Alumni

Libero Andreotti (PhD 1989), Professor of Architecture, Georgia Institute of Technology

Carol Rusche Bentel (PhD 2017), Partner, Bentel & Bentel, Architects/Planners AIA; Adjunct Professor, Webb Institute

Paul Bentel (PhD 1993), Partner, Bentel & Bentel, AIAs and Associate Professor, Columbia University

Robert Cowherd (PhD 2002), Associate Professor, Wentworth Institute of Technology

Edward Eigen (PhD 2000), Associate Professor of Architecture and Landscape, Harvard Graduate School of Design

Irene Fatsea (PhD 2000), Assistant Professor, National Technical University of Athens

Gail Fenske (SMArchS 1982, PhD 1988), Professor of Architecture, School of Architecture, Art & Historic Preservation, Roger Williams University, Bristol, RI

Mark Jarzombek (PhD 1986), Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mina Marafat (PhD 1988), Principal, Design Research; Lecturer, Georgetown University

Juliana Maxim (PhD 2006), Associate Professor, University of San Diego

Brian L. McLaren (PhD 2001), Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Architecture, University of Washington

Adnan Morshed (SMArchS 1995, PhD 2002), Associate Professor, The Catholic University of America

Ikem Okoye (PhD 1995), Associate Professor, University of Delaware

Nasser Rabbat (PhD 1991), Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Nancy Stieber (PhD 1986), Professor Emerita, University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA

Shundana Yusaf (SMArchS 2001), Assistant Professor, University of Utah