Architecture Alumni Win Lawrence Anderson Award

Congratulations to Dessen Hillman (SMArchS 2014) and Erioseto Hendranata (MArch 2014) recipients of the 2015 Lawrence B. Anderson Award for their proposal, "Rediscovering Communal Spaces Through The Everyday Rituals in Indonesia.” The award will help them to study traditional cultures and their rituals across Indonesia in order to learn and uncover knowledge on communal spaces that can inform larger current architecture design discussions.

For more information on their project, please see the project proposal website:!blank/ni4hg

The Lawrence B. Anderson Award was initiated in the spring of 1987, in tribute to the former dean of the School of Architecture and Planning, to be given out every other year in support of creative documentation as a valuable form of learning. The endowment fund was initiated by two of Anderson’s former students, I. M. Pei (‘40 AR) and William E. Hartmann (‘39 AR), as a lasting tribute to their teacher. The award also helps the Institute develop its resources by requiring copies of all the winners’ documentation to be deposited in the Rotch Library and Visual Collections.